Bookshop Crawl for a bookshop haul

OK, so if you’ve got any spare £££s you might choose to spend them on

photo (41)

orflower stall

or even (it won’t work).UK national lottery signBut let’s face it…these will last you a lot longer.books

And they’re more nourishing (yet non-fattening). So I went to hunt some down.

It’s been Independent Booksellers Week 2014 and today book obsessives and book bloggers are celebrating with the IBW Bookshop Crawl. You can follow events on Twitter at #bookshopcrawl. I did cheat a bit, though. I knew I couldn’t make Saturday so went out and about on Thursday when the sun was shining!

I decided to hit the independent bookshops of Brighton & Hove, which are all just a street away from the sea, and I started at the Kemptown Bookshop. Kmeptown Bookshop book bag This guy keeps watch from just over the way statue of David and this is the view from the end of the street. sea view Brighton pier Inside three floors of beautiful books kemp town books plus 20th century prints from Bookroom Art Press prints

and delicious stuff for stationery freaks (which means all writers).

stationery

and a busy children’s department downstairs where I found this!

The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee

and bought this gorgeous book. A First Book of Nature by Nicola Davies & Mark Hearld

Then a bus hop across town to City Books on Western Road

City Books, Brighton which is full to bursting with city fiction and gardening even books about bookshops.The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

They run lots of author events which is why they have a great many signed copies.

city bookshelf

And downstairs (again) a children’s section with lovely picture books

city pic books   and this! city me In the end I succumbed to these…

city pile

 

And just round the corner there’s this, so I sat in the sun to check out what I’d got so far.

city view

Last stop was The Book Nook in Hove, a dedicated children’s bookshop with a little cafe, too. The Book Nook bookshop, Hove

This is at the end of the street (not gloating or anything).

sea view Hove Inside there’s fun fun factual non fict and all kinds of gorgeous fiction, new gorgeous and classic.classics Plus a book boat boat and on the walls some special artwork from visiting authors and illustrators. Liz Pichon artwork for The Book Nook, Hove

And finally, essential to all book browsing… (I can recommend the flapjacks)

coffee

 

The haul in my Gruffalo bag:

kids

 

The books I ended up with were A First Book of Nature by Nicola Davies, illustrated by Mark Hearld; Unexploded by Alison Macleod; Goth Girl & The Ghost of A Mouse by Chris Riddell; The Ocean At The End Of  The Lane by Neil Gaiman; The Jade Boy by Kate Cain; Small Blue Thing by S C Ransom; The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper.

Sigh of satisfaction. Money well spent. Indie bookshops still there. My work is done. ‘Til the next book binge.

 

3 thoughts on “Bookshop Crawl for a bookshop haul

  1. Drooling over your haul, Julia, but I’m trying to be good and not adding to my hoard when we’re downsizing prior to a planned move. At least I’ve got the Gaiman to enjoy before my self-imposed moratorium…

    • It was hard to choose and not blow the budget (did I even have a budget?). On another day it might be another selection. The idea of shedding books to move house is pretty painful.

      • “On another day it might be another selection.” That’s certainly true for me. Or was. I’ve just put up a post about this shedding of books…

What do you think?

